Bon Appetit

by

The art of dining (I use this term lightly) has become a huge part of our daily routine these days. You pretty much enjoy three meals from your high chair so a lot of our time is spent in the kitchen. I look at this time as an opportunity to get to know you a little more. Here’s what I’ve observed:

You can’t sit still- in the high chair you try to turn all around while your hands try to touch anything and everything within reach as your feet kick continuously.

Orange must be your favorite color- because this is the color of the ONLY food you will eat, with the exception of pears. Sweet potatoes, carrots, apricots and squash and cereal.

You thrive on consistency- every day it’s the same old thing. Same time, same place, same food. Aren’t you bored with cereal and pears for breakfast? Don’t you want to explore green hue foods for dinner? Believe me, I’ve tried to switch it up. I throw in a little banana for breakfast or a pea here and there for dinner. You’d think I was offering foie gras by the look on your face when a pea hits your mouth.

You agree that Dad is the chef in this family – you’re not a huge fan of my homemade purées. Even though I slave away (okay not really) chopping and blending you refuse to touch the meals I make. You sit politely with your mouth shut- a crow bar couldn’t pry it open. I don’t know how, but you know the difference between the food I make and the jarred variety even before it hits your tongue. You shake your head as if to say no Mama, I do not like the food you make. Come to think of it, your dad does this too.

Leave a Reply

