Baby Boogie Woogie

by

Dear Roman,

At a year old you’ve already decided that you are perfectly fine without the security of your mama. I am having visions of you demanding I walk five steps behind you at the mall.

I signed us up for Baby Boogie Woogie. Once a week we meet with other kiddos and their parents/nannies for some good old song and dance. In a class of six toddlers you are the youngest, smallest, and most independent.

The fun starts with our teacher leading us in a round of songs while we sit in a circle. I say WE, but should clarify that everyone but YOU sits in a circle. Roman, you run around inside and out of the circle smiling and waving at everyone. Next the teacher has us all stand up (you’re already standing) for another song as she shows us some hand movements and dance steps that we are to do. As I’m singing and dancing (looking completely ridiculous I am certain) in the circle with everyone else (who look completely ridiculous) you are around the corner drumming on some tucked away chairs. Not a moment too soon the teacher goes to a closet and brings out a basket of toys. You are intrigued and abandon your drum solo to come check out what’s in the basket. PUPPETS! We all pick out a furry friend and are instructed to have our bear, cat, bunny or in your case Dalmatian join us as we sing yet another song I can only half remember from my own childhood. I play along and put your dog on my one hand and a ladybug on the other committing myself to looking even more ridiculous if this is possible. You look around the circle at all the stuffed toys and abandon me once again so you can go from one adult/child pair to another giving puppets a kiss and peers a wave. You finish by joining the teacher at the front of the room for a duet. For 45 minutes I watch you work the room as I sit- the only adult without a child in my lap.

The truth is I adore watching you interact and I’m proud to know you feel secure enough to explore independently. You may not know it, but you still need your mama. After all, who enrolled you in Baby Boogie Woogie to begin with?

Leave a Reply

