Preschool

by

Dear Roman,
Today was a really big day for you! Your first day of preschool. I can hardly believe the time has come to send you out into the world, but that’s exactly what happened this morning from 9 to 11am.

Finding the right preschool was something I put a lot of effort into because I think it’s really important. It’s your first introduction to school, it’s your first time away from the comforts of home. Montessori, Waldorf, Co-ops, oh my… in the end we decided on a “play based” neighborhood school that seems like a perfect fit for your personality. Creative play, small class sizes, unstructured curriculum and you know half the kids in your class from playing at Turtle Park including your friends Izzie and Nicholas.

You got to know your new school over the summer when we attended a couple picnic meet and greets. You loved playing in the outdoor space and became familiar with the teachers faces. Last week we got to explore your classroom and while you played I got to talk with your teachers Patrice and Augusta. They are exactly what I pictured your first teachers being- warm, nurturing, enthusiastic, responsible.

This morning you were full of nervous energy. You barely ate breakfast, you kept checking the clock to see what time it was and asked over and over if it was” time to go yet?” The first day of school excitement! Finally it was time to put on your new backpack and tuck a little picture of mom in your pant pocket. I took a few pictures and we were off in the car for a 5 minute drive to school.

When we got there you ran down the sidewalk to the little red building that is the Kirkland Preschool. In we went and down the flight of stairs to your class. Ms. Augusta greeted you at the door with a smile and a “Hi Roman.”  You showed her your photo of Mom and she remarked at how special it was. Then she took your backpack and showed you where your cubby was and the next thing I knew you were holding her hand and she was leading you over to the sinks to wash up. In a blink of an eye you had transitioned just fine so I said a quick “goodbye” and Charlotte and I left the classroom.

When I came to pick you up it was I that ran down the sidewalk and couldn’t get down that flight of stairs fast enough to see you. I opened the door to your class and saw you sitting next to Izzie and your teacher while she read the two of you a book. You didn’t even get up when you saw me walk in! Augusta told me that you were a lot of fun! Oh and you went potty twice all on your own! Throughout the rest of the day you gave me little bits of info as to what you did at preschool- you ate grapes and had some water, you played astronauts with your teachers and you rode in a moon buggy.

The hardest part for me is NOT knowing every single little thing that happened while you were at school. Getting info from you is like pulling teeth so I want to call up your teacher and ask questions like, “Did Roman do a good job of sharing with others? Did he eat all the grapes or did he just take bites like he usually does? When Roman went potty did he remember to wash his hands because we’ve been working on that at home. Did he tell you he loves playing rocket ship? Was he a good friend to others? Did Roman follow direction?

Don’t worry I wouldn’t dare embarrass you like that! I promise!

I love you!

One Response to “Preschool”

  1. Mom Says:

    Wow, what a big day for Roman and for you! I got teary reading it, I’m not sure why…but he’s just grown up so fast! The pictures are adorable too! What a big boy he is…

Leave a Reply

