When Dad is Gone

by

Dear Roman,

It seems like each time your Dad leaves on a business trip something major happens. This unfortunate trend started when you were 3 months old and had a bad reaction to a vaccine. I was alone and terrified with a screaming baby. Little did I know it was just the beginning. He travels on a regular basis and every single time he leaves something happens- colds caught, ear infections, stomach flu, chimney leaks, water damage… you name it it has happened. So I’ve learned to dread each trip he takes and you just end up falling apart- irritable by day and unable to sleep at night. Sure enough while Dad is currently in Montreal you’re enduring a cold complete with stuffy nose and cough. But it seems like this business trip we had to up the ante because…

Over the weekend there was a crazy rain storm that managed to turn our little house into what felt like a sinking house boat. The basement AKA your playroom had an inch of standing water covering the floor. And of course it happened the day before your Dad was set to board a plane. From your point of view it meant you’d been kicked out of your fun room until we could put it back together again. Understandably you’re a little upset and you don’t understand why there’s not a superhero we can call to make it all better.

Then last night another storm came through bringing heavy rain, loud thunder, lightning and knocked out our power for a bit. You and your sister were awakened by the weather and I was awakened by both of your cries. I stumbled up the dark stairs to help you first tucking you back into bed and from the glow of your turtle nightlight I saw the terrified look on your face. I told you everything was okay and had to run down the hall to calm your sister down. After and hour I finally succeeded at getting Charlotte to fall back to sleep. I crept back into your room to check on you once more before I crawled into my bed. There you were, still awake lying under your sheets. I scooted next to you and held your hand. I know you must have been super scared with the power out, Dad gone, pouring rain and a sister screaming. I whispered to you that you were being very brave. Just like Rocket Man. And with that you turned over and fell asleep.

If only it were that easy for me to fall to sleep.

Leave a Reply

