Jack and the Beanstalk

by

Dear Roman,

Last weekend I took you on a super fun date to the theater. We caught a live performance of Jack and the Beanstalk at our neighborhood performing arts center. You’re going through this really uncharacteristic phase right now that leaves you fearful of almost everything as in “I don’t want to do anything Mama.” So I was really nervous you weren’t going to enjoy the show. Plus there’s a giant and the thought of that had you losing sleep for days!  I pretty much had to drag you kicking and screaming to the matinee. But once we got inside and you saw the stage you got excited. Then all of your friends arrived and you were back to your old enthusiastic self. The actors performance had you sitting perfectly still on the edge of my lap for the full 45 minutes. Sometimes you’d turn to me for reassurance that nothing scary was going to happen, but mostly you took it all in and loved every minute.

After the show we decided to go for some pizza. You walked ahead of all us moms with your buddies down familiar streets and I got a good view of what a kid you’ve become. I watched you hanging out with friends talking about who knows what and enjoying life. It’s when you’re at your happiest so I suppose I am too. It really was the perfect date. I’m just sad I didn’t get any pictures!

xo,

Mom

Leave a Reply

