3 Years 8 Months

by

Dear Roman,

I can’t even believe you’re a month closer to turning four! I mean never in my life could I picture myself being a mom to a four year old. That just seems so old- for both you and me. I’d better know what I’m doing (at being your mom) at this point.

This evening I presented you with a new style of nighttime pull ups since you still have to wear them at night. They had Buzz and Woody from Toy Story on them. So I was like, “look Buddy I got you these new pants to sleep in isn’t that great?” And you took a look and said, “Um Mom, actually those aren’t cool.” You hung your head for awhile and then you said, “well sorry Mom, I mean thanks a lot for getting them for me.” I was laughing so hard I couldn’t help it. How old are you, 10??? Last I checked they don’t make Zorro or Han Solo pull ups, but I’ll double check.

You still love dressing yourself and have gotten a lot better at putting clothes on the correct way, but there are times when everything is backward. I have to say though you pick out really good outfits. Sometimes ( a lot ) I think your dad is jealous of your wardrobe.

Since you gave up your nap months ago you’ve been keeping this crazy early bedtime schedule. It’s great for me since I’m exhausted by the end of the day (ready for a break) and since I have to start my other job as soon as you hit the sheets. But it totally sucks for your dad who can never make it home from work before you pass out. Want to know what time you go to bed? 6 o’clock! One day I know you won’t believe me when I tell you. But seriously you are done for the day by 5pm. It’s a struggle to get you fed and bathed, into pjs and read to before your eyes won’t stay open another second. It’s also kind of a bummer that we never get to go out at night with you. If we tried you’d likely act like a mess of a kid throwing a tantrum and crying at nothing. So we keep you indoors after 5 like you’re a werewolf.

You can pretty much recite every piece of information from your Star Wars dictionary. At preschool the topic was transportation and you guys were asked what you’d like to travel on. All the kids answered boats, planes, trains, etc. You said a Land Speeder.

You love your sister. It’s just hilarious to watch your form of love. Strangers watching have been brought to gasps of horror at times. You’ve been mistaken for trying to smother her… but you’re smothering with love. Kisses, hugs, tickles, pokes she gets it all from you. At times you aren’t at all gentle. Often she gets bombarded and falls over. She’s pretty good at letting you know what she likes and does not like. But the best thing you do and the reason why I know you love her more than Star Wars is that you ask me to tell the story of when you two first met. Over and over. Of course you remember it like it was yesterday, but you still love hearing how we got Baby Charlotte from the hospital. Then you make me tell you that she will always be your baby sister and that we will always keep her.

We should add knights to your list of interests. I took you to another play at the local performing arts center with a few of your friends. Sleeping Beauty was the show and I was a little worried you wouldn’t be into it. But the prince was written specifically for you I think. His character had a light saber as a sword and he wanted to “save the day” every chance he got! You and all your buddies were on the edge of your seats the entire 45 minutes. After the show you wanted info about kings, princes and knights. I got you a foam sword and shield and you’ve been pretend playing ever since. Today we went to run a few errands and you had to go in character complete with cape, shield and sword. Do you know how many ladies’ days you made? A lot. Everyone would say, Oh he’s so adorable. Reminds me of my son at that age.”

You are adorable. We love you.

*In the picture you’re holding up a mothers day present that you made for me at school. You had your teacher write the note for you. It’s SO you.

Leave a Reply

