Swimmer

by

Dear Roman,

For a few years now you’ve been taking swim lessons with Miss Connie. She’s become such a positive influence in your life. almost like a beloved member of the family. You and your sister tell her about special moments, share with her your interests. Over breaks and vacations you both repeatedly ask, “when do we get to see Miss Connie again?” Each week she spends 30 minutes working with you to try and overcome your anxieties and fears. She coaches you through stressful situations. You’ve learned so much more than simply how to swim which was the goal when you started. Watching your progress has been an amazing experience for me. At times incredibly painful. You would resist and regress then slowly surge progress. Baby steps. Honestly there were moments when I lose hope and get discouraged. You’d fight Miss Connie and try to negotiate your way out of any situation you didn’t feel comfortable with. And I simply couldn’t imagine you overcoming your own sabotages.  But She never once backed down. So I kept my mouth shut and let her do the teaching and pushing. I fully trusted her methods and thought, if anyone can turn you into a swimmer it will be her. 

We hadn’t been to swim lessons in a few weeks as it had been winter break. Until today when we returned. Your sister has lessons first and you play with your buddy while you wait. Then it was your turn. As I was dressing Charlotte I noticed as Miss Connie would call out strokes to perform you were eager and willing to oblige. Swimming across the length of the pool with an almost ease. You had found your confidence. You had gotten passed the huge barrier you had put up. And it only took you three years to get there. Ha ha. I stopped dressing Charlotte and took in what I was seeing. It was the moment I never thought would come. I saw… a swimmer! Miss Connie noticed the change as well and made sure to acknowledge your efforts. Then she pulled you aside and said, “Roman, you have now officially moved up a level from non swimmer to swimmer.” Your face beamed. You rarely show your feelings in this sort of way so we both could tell that meant a lot. I reflected on the time spent in her pool. How far you have come. How much she means to you and I started to tear up. I realized that as your mom the best thing I can do is sit back and let you grow and develop as you are ready. Because you will eventually get there and how special is it when you do!!

Leave a Reply

